1. 09:00 - 12:00 Tracey Lange
  2. 12:00 - 15:00 Ryan O'Connor

If you are employed full time, you are typically expected to work about 21 days per month or 252 days in the year. You should have at least 15 days of leave, and there are 12 public holidays.

By using your annual leave around the public holiday dates, you can extend the days you can be out of the office.

Employers should take note too. Staff would understandably want to get the most time off with their leave, and so managing employee numbers on the dates below will ensure happy staff while keeping your doors open for business.

2019 Public Holidays

|Day | Date | Holiday
|:---|:---:|:---|
|Tuesday | 1 January | New Year's Day|
|Thursday |21 March | Human Rights Day|
|Friday | 29 March | Good Friday |
|Monday | 1 April | Family Day |
|Saturday | 27 April | Freedom Day |
|Wednesday | 1 May | Workers Day |
|Wednesday | 8 May | Election Day |
|Sunday | 16 June |Youth Day|
|Monday |17 June | 16 June is a Sunday |
|Friday | 9 August | National Women's Day|
|Tuesday | 24 September | Heritage Day |
|Monday |16 December | Day of Reconcilliation |
|Wednesday | 25 December | Christmas Day |
|Thursday | 26 December | Day of Goodwill |

By taking a day before or after a public holiday long weekend, you can get a better break with the least use of annual leave.

Apply for leave on these days

|Leave days |Dates requested |Time off|
|:---:|:---:|:---|
|1 |22 March|4 days|
|2 |2 , 3 May |5 days|
|2 |9 , 10 May |5 days|
|4 |23, 25, 26, 27 September |9 days|
|6 |23, 24, 27, 28, 30, 31 December|12 days|
|Total days taken| |Total days out of office|
|15| |35 days|

Hope you have a great 2019.

This article first appeared on CapeTalk : How to make the most of your days off in 2019

More on KFM